At the medical school’s Commencement ceremony on Harkness Lawn in May, the Class of 2005 enjoyed their day in the sun, basking in the admiration of family and friends. But faculty, too, were honored for their many contributions to education.

For the first time, the Bohmfalk Prize for teaching basic sciences was awarded to a husband-and-wife team, Marie-Louise Landry, M.D., professor of laboratory medicine, and Peter S. Aronson, M.D., the C.N.H. Long Professor of Medicine and professor of cellular and molecular physiology. The Bohmfalk Prize for teaching clinical science went to Michael K. O’Brien, M.D., Ph.D., assistant clinical professor of surgery.

Sharon K. Inouye, M.D., M.P.H., professor of medicine, received the Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award, while Catherine Chiles, M.D., associate clinical professor of psychiatry, won the Leah M. Lowenstein Prize, for excellence in the promotion of egalitarian medical education. The first annual Alvin R. Feinstein Award for outstanding clinical skills was awarded to Ronald R. Salem, M.D., associate professor of surgery.

Robert D. Auerbach, M.D., lecturer in obstetrics, gynecology and reproductive sciences, was awarded the Francis Gilman Blake Award for outstanding teaching.

Public health students chose Elizabeth H. Bradley, M.B.A., Ph.D., associate professor of public health, for the Award for Excellence in Teaching, the third in her nine-year career at Yale.