Clarence T. Sasaki, M.D., the Charles W. Ohse Professor of Surgery, has received the 2010 ALA Award from the American Laryngological Association for unique and significant contributions to the advancement of medicine. The award was presented to Sasaki at the ALA’s 131st Annual Meeting, held this April in Las Vegas, Nev.

The American Bronchoesophagological Association (ABEA) also honored Sasaki with the 2010 Chevalier Jackson Award for lifelong outstanding advancement of bronchoesophagology. Named for an eminent laryngologist who founded the ABEA, the award is the association’s highest recognition. Sasaki received the award at the ABEA’s 2010 Scientific Program, also held in April in Las Vegas.

Sasaki is the past president of the ABEA and president-elect of the ALA.

Chief of the Section of Otolaryngology and director of Yale’s Laryngeal Physiology Laboratory, Sasaki also leads the Head and Neck Program at Yale Cancer Center.